A week without cooking

Sorry there hasn’t been much in the way of bloggy goodness this week; real life has actually intruded on this little internet project. But I’m back now, and ready to bring you the regular dose of insight, wit and pure culinary genius.

Also, this has been a strange week for me – I haven’t cooked a single time. Not for others, not for myself. It’s been a little weird. In fact, not only haven’t I cooked, but other people have cooked for me. On Sunday, a friend had a “house-cooling” party: she’s leaving her place in Shaw for the wilds of Friendship Heights. In a meal that was explicitly explained to us as “cleaning out the fridge” we had lemon caper chicken, vegetable quiche, and a pear-almond-Gorgonzola salad with homemade vinaigrette. It was nice; really tasty – though for me the nicest thing was being able to enjoy a meal without having to worry about what still needed to be cooked, or cleaning up afterward!

And check out this chicken:

Lemon Caper Chicken

After the jump: more food pictures, and pictures from the other reason I haven’t been cooking this week.

A little quiche:

Finally, one of the biggest reasons I haven’t cooked this week is that I missed this weekend’s farmer’s markets; I was in West Virginia, camping, and then running a race on top of a mountain. A great time – I know it isn’t food, but I wanted to share some pictures. For the four or five of you who aren’t close friends or blood relations, this is what I look like:

West Virginia Mountains

And this is where we were running:

West Virginia Seneca Rocks
Leave a Reply

